Loop-de-loop

I have tried and experienced a lot of things over the course of my 28 years on this planet. I don’t regret any of them. The journey thus far has been one helluva roller-coaster ride, and I could never have predicted that I’d be where I am right now. I can say though, with full honesty, that the biggest challenge I have faced is building a company. Not just any company though. I’m talking about a company that I can be truly proud of. An environment in which human beings thrive. A place where people arrive feeling empowered, are given the freedom and opportunity to do their best work, and leave feeling satisfied and yet craving more. As a founder, or CEO, or COO, this is an evolving challenge; a path of introspection into oneself as well as an outward expression of self for the purpose of empowering others, and one which I am far from conquering or achieving, but will be working my hardest to do so as the next loop of the roller-coaster ride comes into view.

As a dear friend and advisor reminded me a couple of days ago, “remember that this is all made of people”. I think a lot of us forget that sometimes. We hide behind the abstraction and entity which is a ‘company’, using it as a cloak for dishonesty, unethical, or in some cases, inhumane actions and decisions. Remember, this whole journey of entrepreneurship, startups, and life, is made of people, so don’t let the abstractions of business cloud your clarity or the prevent you from expressing the human characteristics that crave expression. We all innately desire to do good. Business can be a place to do good.




    Leave a comment